The Sims 2: Double Deluxe (Game Reviews #2)

Intro:
If you are unaware of what Sims games offer to players, allow me to explain. Sims games may quite possibly be the first and most popular life simulation game on the market. Considering that The Sims are of the simulation genre, it doesn’t really have a story but rather you are the storyteller. Each time you make a Sim, a new story is told through how you care for your Sim, how your Sim cares about others, or what you make them do with their life. In this way, you are able to have more control over the character considering that you have all power over every aspect of each Sim.
Console: PC
Series: Sims
Rating: T
Genre: Simulation
Publisher: EA

Quality:
Lip Sync +: The lip sync is not really an issue because the Sims don’t actually speak English. They speak a language called Simlish and you are constantly listening to them speak this foreign language. You can’t really judge lip sync for another language but it seemed fine.
Music +: The Sims games’ music is always really pretty and catchy. This game is no exception.
Framerate +: I thought the framerate was fine. Considering that this rendition was released in 2009, it works.
Creativity -:
This game is not very creative considering how many renditions there are for Sims, but if you want a life simulation game, I would at least recommend this series.
Art -: There is one thing about this game is that I don’t remember thinking about how beautiful the game is. Sims 2 Double Deluxe is just not a very pretty game and you shouldn’t play it for that reason.
Graphics -: The graphics may have been pretty good for the time, but have not aged very well. A lot of the cut scenes that happen whenever a momentous event occurs show awkward polygon looking Sims.
Replay Value -: Sims games are really only associated with a certain mood you are in. You only really play Sims games if you are in the mood for them, and never really again. Because the game play is only fun for about 10 minutes, I can’t see why most people would want to play again for long periods of time.
Control +: The controls work very well with the options of a computer but I must say they don’t exactly utilize all computer buttons. I don’t think this is a negative though because simulation games don’t need to be complex.
Satisfaction of Winning -: Because there weren’t any real ways of celebration (if you had a party, you could only invite 2 people and you didn’t have a car or anything to drive to a place to celebrate) if anything positive happened, you didn’t really feel happy. For instance, if your Sim grew up, it wasn’t really satisfying.
Difficulty +: It’s a life simulation game, so it only has to be as hard as you want it to be.
Plot -: There is no plot.
Story +: Although there was no plot per see, there were some already-moved in Sims that had little story lines that could actually affect your Sim if you decide to interact with them.
Side Quest Options -: You weren’t given a car or even an option to buy a car, so I felt like that was a mistake. It’s a life simulation game after all. Plus there weren’t a lot of options for what you can do in the cities.
Animation +: I think the animation is actually fine for the time. It has aged fine.
Sound Quality +: I thought the sound quality was fine.
Sound Effects -: I am a very impatient person, so I would often fast-forward through all actions that I had my Sims do. The thing is, when I did this, the sound effects would often junk out.
Camera +: The camera was fully in your control and you could easily manipulate it.
Editing +: There were no proofreading issues as far as I could find.
Glitches -: I played this game a lot so I came across quite a few glitches, but I also have to say most of them were visual and I did not come across any game breaking moments.
Gameplay -: The game play was very simple but there wasn’t enough variety for me.
Length +: The length was fine.

Quality Score: 5/10

Entertainment Score: 8.5/10

Conclusion:
I actually am a huge fan of life simulation games, so, my entertainment score may be a little biased. However, if you want to play a life simulation game, I would not recommend this specific game just because the most current Sim game is probably the best bet. I would only recommend this game if you are a Sim collector or something.

Leave a Reply

